Silver Venus Redux

Andrea Spaziani + Matt Smith

Silver Venus’ world resists fixity. Like a teeming army of herring she continuously flip-flops and plops-out shimmery clumps of progenies. This time, she is expressing her sound. Listen for her cleavage. It cuts between the memory of an occasion spent together and an occasion that never materialized. She revisits the music and movements of her friends, laughing like clams with their non self-flagellating tongues. She wants to find a way to be in the same place again and to touch ear to ear. She is alone, but she is teeming.

Working from the choreographic score for the live ensemble piece Silver Venus (2018), Andrea Spaziani and Matt Smith will build the sonic environment and movements of a dance for headphones. Presented against a cinematic landscape of Silver Venus scenes by Alejandro Fargosonini.


Andrea Spaziani generates choreographic scores by combining movement, speaking and writing in a stream of improvisation. She is preoccupied by the question “why do I think the way that I do?” and works with bias as material in order to decompose its influence. She has been living between Toronto, New York City and Marfa (Texas).

Matt Smith is a Toronto-based musician/sound artist, sound designer, sound engineer, fabricator, composer and dramaturg. Matt makes sounds for theatre and dance and film, and music for concert halls, bars and clubs, and in many other contexts. Currently Smith is collaborating with Amanda Acorn on her new piece No Place, and Produced Lido Pimienta’s new record Miss Colombia.

Performed by Andrea Spaziani + Matt Smith Choir Nicole Rose Bond + Francesca Chudnoff + Alicia Grant + Megumi Kokuba + Julia Male + Devon Snell Choreographic score Andrea Spaziani Choreography Andrea Spaziani Sound design Matt Smith Photo Claire Harvie Cinema by Alejandro Michelangelo Fargosonini Dancers in video Nicole Rose Bond + Irvin Chow + Francesca Chudnoff + Alicia Grant + Julia Male + Claire Turner Reid

With the support of Canada Council for the Arts Coproduction and residencies Dancemakers Centre for Creation (Toronto) Curated by Amelia Ehrhardt

andreaspaziani.com
Instagram
Twitter

princenifty.com
Facebook
Instagram
Twitter

23.053pm-5pmWebsite

Access and participation information will be sent to pass holders in a newsletter on the morning of the performance.

Silver Venus Redux

Andrea Spaziani + Matt Smith

L’univers de Silver Venus résiste à l’immobilité. Comme une armée grouillante de harengs, elle s’agite sans cesse et pond des amas de progéniture chatoyante. Cette fois-ci, elle révèle sa mélodie. Écoutez son clivage. Il oscille entre le souvenir de moments partagés et de moments qui ne se matérialiseront jamais. Elle repense à la musique et aux mouvements de ses ami·e·s, riant comme des palourdes avec leurs langues qui ne s’auto-flagellent pas. Elle veut trouver un moyen de retourner à cet endroit pour être à leurs côtés, les toucher et les écouter. Elle est seule, mais elle est une foule.

À partir de la partition chorégraphique de la pièce d’ensemble Silver Venus (2018), Andrea Spaziani et Matt Smith construisent l’environnement sonore et les mouvements d’une danse pour écouteurs, présentée en parallèle d’un paysage cinématographique de scènes de Silver Venus créé par Alejandro Fargosonini.


Andrea Spaziani crée des partitions chorégraphiques qui combinent le mouvement, la parole et l’écriture en un élan d’improvisation. Sa préoccupation principale est la question « pourquoi est-ce que je pense de la manière dont je pense ? », elle travaille avec l’idée du parti pris comme matériel pour décomposer son influence. Elle vit entre Toronto, la ville de New York et Marfa (Texas).

Établi à Toronto, Matt Smith est un musicien/artiste sonore, concepteur sonore, ingénieur du son, bricoleur, compositeur et dramaturge. Matt compose des trames sonores pour le théâtre, la danse et le cinéma, ainsi que de la musique pour les salles de concert, les bars et les clubs, et bien d’autres contextes. Il collabore actuellement avec Amanda Acorn sur sa nouvelle pièce No Place, et a produit le nouveau disque Miss Colombia de Lido Pimienta.

Interprétation Andrea Spaziani + Matt Smith La chorale Nicole Rose Bond + Francesca Chudnoff + Alicia Grant + Megumi Kokuba + Julia Male + Devon Snell Partition chorégraphique Andrea Spaziani Chorégraphie Andrea Spaziani Conception sonore Matt Smith Photo Claire Harvie Cinéma Alejandro Michelangelo Fargosonini Danseurs en video Nicole Rose Bond + Irvin Chow + Francesca Chudnoff + Alicia Grant + Julia Male + Claire Turner Reid

Avec le support de Conseil des arts du Canada Coproduction et résidences Dancemakers Centre for Creation (Toronto) Commisarié par Amelia Ehrhardt 

andreaspaziani.com
Instagram
Twitter

princenifty.com
Facebook
Instagram
Twitter

23.0515h-17hSite web

Les informations d’accès et de participation seront transmises aux détenteur·trice·s de passes dans une infolettre le matin de la performance.