STRIKE/THRU

Nadia Myre + Johanna Nutter
creature/creature

In codiffusion with MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels)

Bringing together two old friends, STRIKE/THRU is an interdisciplinary encounter between indigenous visual artist Nadia Myre and settler theatre artist Johanna Nutter. In videoconference, six members of the audience are invited to reconstruct a recorded conversation between culturally-mixed people while the two artists use each other to explore the identity constructs raised by the verbatim. A live impetus for conciliation and reconciliation, this work speaks to the current climate around Indigenous/Settler relations.

This project received financial support from the MAI Alliance Program (2016-2017) and this event is an excerpt of the performance that was supposed to be presented at MAI in May 2020, which was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.


creature/creature is a creation and event association mandated to set up live art encounters between established divisions. We call something a creature if we don’t know what it is: the word evokes curiosity, alertness, hospitality, and possibly danger. This state of newness is where we want to be when we make and experience art.

Creation Nadia Myre + Johanna Nutter Dramaturg collaborator Jacob Wren Costume and set design collaborator Elen Ewing Video consultant Brian Gardiner Sound consultant Eric Powell Somatic Guide Bernard Fontbuté Arrivals Legacy Guide Diane Roberts Production assistant and stage management Natjelly Lozada + Tasha Chartrand Technical director Alexis Gagnon Photo Caroline Hayeur Video teaser Araya Everett

Production creature/creature With the support of Fondation Cole + Playwrights Workshop Montreal Creative residencies MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels) + Vermont Arts Centre + Canada Council for the Arts

creaturecreature.org
Facebook
Instagram

28.055pm-5:45pmVideoconference (FR/EN)

Access and participation information will be sent to pass holders in a newsletter on the morning of the performance.

STRIKE/THRU

Nadia Myre + Johanna Nutter
creature/creature

En codiffusion avec le MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels)

Rencontre artistique entre deux amies de longue date, STRIKE/THRU réunit l’artiste visuelle autochtone Nadia Myre et l’artiste de théâtre allochtone Johanna Nutter. En visioconférence, six membres du public sont invités à reconstruire une conversation enregistrée entre des gens aux origines métissées tandis que les deux artistes échangent pour explorer les malaises identitaires soulevés par le verbatim. Véritable élan vers la conciliation et la réconciliation, cette œuvre traduit brillamment le climat actuel entourant les relations entre autochtones et allochtones.

Ce projet a bénéficié du soutien financier du programme Alliance du MAI (2016-2017) et cet événement est un extrait de la performance qui devait être présentée au MAI au mois de mai 2020, reporté en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19.


creature/creature est une association créative et événementielle dont l’objectif est d’organiser des rencontres en arts vivants au-delà des divisions disciplinaires classiques. Nous appelons “créature” ce qui est inclassable : le mot évoque la curiosité, la vivacité, l’hospitalité, mais aussi parfois le danger. C’est avec un esprit neuf que doit se faire la création et la réception de l’art.

Création Nadia Myre + Johanna Nutter Collaboration à la dramaturgie Jacob Wren Collaboration aux costume et à la scénographie Elen Ewing Conseils à la vidéo Brian Gardiner Conseils au son Eric Powell Guide Somatique Bernard Fontbuté Guide du Arrivals Legacy Project Diane Roberts Assistante de production et régie Natjelly Lozada + Tasha Chartrand Direction technique Alexis Gagnon Photo Caroline Hayeur Vidéo bande-annonce Araya Everett

Production creature/creature Avec le soutien de Fondation Cole + Playwrights Workshop Montreal Résidences de création MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels) + Vermont Arts Centre + Conseil des arts du Canada

creaturecreature.org
Facebook
Instagram

28.0517h-17h45Visioconférence (FR/EN)

Les informations d’accès et de participation seront transmises aux détenteur·trice·s de passes dans une infolettre le matin de la performance.