Little Fun Palace

Office for a Human Theatre

A caravan. A small and portable pavilion. A bar. An ephemeral place of aggregation. A tribute to the Fun Palace; the legendary project of the architect Cedric Price and of the theater director Joan Littlewood who in the sixties wanted to create a street university, a laboratory of fun.

To redefine what unites us, blur boundaries and celebrate interstices, the Little Fun Palace sets up shop in Montreal for the entire duration of the OFFTA! A meeting space with multiple configurations, the street caravan imagined in 2018 by Italian company Office for a Human Theatre (OHT) will tour various neighbourhoods around the city. This mobile contraption rewrites live art into public spaces by prompting fiercely joyful impromptu encounters. Discussions, performances and DJ sets are just a few of the activities from this tapestry of eclectic meetups between artists, citizens, activists and researchers.

First stop of a tour that will take the caravan to Quebec City, Marsoui, Le Bic, Sherbrooke and Ottawa, this iteration, created in collaboration with artist Filippo Andreatta, will infiltrate the city to imagine flexible, non-hierarchical and locally rooted areas of exchange.

Consult the itinerary, the participants and the complete program by downloading the schedule above.


Founded in 2008, OHT [Office for a Human Theatre] is the research studio of theatre-maker and curator Filippo Andreatta whose work deals with landscape, daily personal politics and public spaces.

OHT has achieved national and international collaborations such as Haydn Foundation (IT), NYC Artists’ Salon (USA), Roma Europa festival (IT), Triennale Teatro Milan (IT), the Josef and Anni Albers Foundation (USA), Whitechapel Gallery London (UK), Teatro della Tosse Genova (IT), Italian Cultural Institute of Vienna (AT), MAXXI museum of the arts of the XXI century Rome (IT), among the others. Finally, Centrale Fies has frequently been partner of various projects, either for productions or for premieres.

OHT has been honoured with awards for artistic excellence, including Nuove Sensibilità for young theatre directors (2008), Movin’Up award for young artists (2016 and 2017), OPER.A 20.21 Fringe (2017) and nominated for Best Set-Design at UBU prize (2018).

A coproduction of
OHT [Office for a Human Theatre] + LA SERRE – arts vivants + Partenariat du Quartier des spectacles

In collaboration with
Carrefour international de théâtre de Québec + Centre de Création Diffusion de Gaspé + Théâtre du Bic / Les gens d’en bas + Centre des arts de la scène Jean-Besré + Le Trillium + Salon58 + pro scena

Ideation
OHT

Curators (OFFTA)
Filippo Andreatta + Émilie Martz-Kuhn + Vincent de Repentigny

Guest curators (Tour)
Emile Beauchemin + Priscilla Guy + Wina Forget + André Gélineau + Guillaume Saindon

Photo credit
Flyle

With the financial support of
Conseil des arts du Canada + Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec


oht.art
Facebook
Instagram

28.055pm-9pm Online broadcasting
30.0512pm-5pmOnline broadcasting
01.0611pm-6:30pmOnline broadcasting
03.0612pm-1pm — 5pm-6pmOnline broadcasting
05.061:30pm-4:30pmOnline broadcasting

Petit Fun Palace

Office for a Human Theatre

Une caravane. Un petit pavillon mobile. Un espace éphémère de rassemblement. Un hommage au Fun Palace; projet légendaire de l’architecte Cedric Price et de la metteuse en scène Joan Littlewood qui dans les années soixantes voulaient créer une université de la rue, un laboratoire du “fun”.

Pour redéfinir ce qui nous relie, brouiller les frontières et célébrer les interstices, le Petit Fun Palace investit Montréal pour toute la durée du OFFTA ! Espace de rencontre aux configurations multiples, la caravane ambulante imaginée en 2018 par la compagnie italienne Office for a Human Theatre (OHT) s’active dans différents quartiers de la métropole. Ce dispositif mobile réinscrit l’art vivant au cœur de l’espace public en provoquant rencontres impromptues et férocement joyeuses. Discussions, performances, DJ sets: autant d’activités qui tissent la trame de rendez-vous éclectiques entre artistes, citoyen·ne·s, activistes et chercheur·e·s.

Première étape d’une tournée qui la conduira à Québec, à Marsoui, au Bic, à Sherbrooke et à Ottawa, cette itération imaginée en collaboration avec l’artiste Filippo Andreatta infiltre la ville et imagine des terrains d’échanges flexibles, non hiérarchiques et localement ancrés.

L’itinéraire, les intervenant·e·s et la programmation complète seront dévoilé·e·s au cours des prochaines semaines.


Fondé en 2008, OHT [Office for a Human Theatre] est l’atelier de recherche du metteur en scène et commissaire Filippo Andreatta dont les travaux traitent du paysage, des opinions politiques du moment et des espaces publics.

OHT est l’instigateur de plusieurs collaborations nationales et internationales, notamment avec la Fondation Joseph Haydn (IT), le NYC Artists’ Salon (É.-U.), le festival Roma Europa (IT), la triennale de théâtre de Milan (IT), la Fondation Josef et Anni Albers (É.-U.), la Whitechapel Gallery à Londres (R.-U.), le Teatro della Tosse de Gênes (IT), l’Institut culturel italien à Vienne (AT) et le MAXXI — Musée national des Arts du XXIe siècle à Rome (IT). Notons également plusieurs partenariats avec la Centrale Fies dans le cadre de différents projets de productions ou de premières.

OHT s’est mérité plusieurs prix d’excellence en art, incluant le prix Nuove Sensibilità pour jeunes metteurs en scène (2008), le prix Movin’Up pour les artistes émergents (2016-2017), le prix OPER.A 20.21 Fringe (2017), et fut mis en nomination pour le Prix UBU, dans la catégorie meilleure scénographie (2018).

Une coproduction de
OHT [Office for a Human Theatre] + LA SERRE – arts vivants + Partenariat du Quartier des spectacles

En collaboration avec le
Carrefour international de théâtre de Québec + Centre de Création Diffusion de Gaspé + Théâtre du Bic / Les gens d’en bas + Centre des arts de la scène Jean-Besré + Le Trillium + Salon58 + pro scena

Idéation
OHT

Commissaires (OFFTA)
Filippo Andreatta + Émilie Martz-Kuhn + Vincent de Repentigny

Commissaires invité·e·s (Tournée)
Emile Beauchemin + Priscilla Guy + Wina Forget + André Gélineau + Guillaume Saindon

Crédit photo
Flyle

Avec le soutien financier de
Conseil des arts du Canada + Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec


oht.art
Facebook
Instagram

28.0517h-21hWebdiffusion
29.0512h-21hWebdiffusion
30.0512h-19hWebdiffusion
31.0512h-21hWebdiffusion
01.0612h-19hWebdiffusion
02.0612h-21hWebdiffusion
03.0612h-19hWebdiffusion
04.0612h-21hWebdiffusion
05.0612h-19hWebdiffusion