Luz : Terre

Sonia Bustos

Play
Pause

How can we mend our bodies after having lived through fear and sadness? After denouncing and fighting against abuse, how can we turn that pain into light? Luz : Terre is a collective mending act in which the healing words of Mexican women resonate through the hands of six embroiderers to sow new hope. This project is part of the LUZ (Dentelle, Echo, Terre), which aims to connect plural communities by inhabiting various spaces.

An excerpt of this project will be presented at the OFFTA, which proposes the active participation of six people (embroiderers) who identifying themselves as women or belonging to gender minorities.


Sonia Bustos. Mexican-born performer and creator, she is deeply interested in socio-political engagement as well as the recognition accorded to the performer’s creative work. Her artistic research is focused on women’s issues, Latin America’s third root *, memory, theatricality and the relationship between the performer and the audience.

    • *The third root is a reference to the acknowledgement of the sociocultural presence and contribution of African descent communities in Latin America; communities who arrived as slaves and who live in relative invisibility still today.

Ideation, choreography and performance
Sonia Bustos

Dramaturgy
Yohayna Hernández

Sound artist
Moe Clark

Technical direction
Catherine FP

Photo
Vanessa Fortin

With the support of
Conseil des arts du Canada

Creation residencies
Maison de la Culture Rosemont-Petite-Patrie + Maisons de la Culture Plateau-Mont-Royal + CCOV (Centre de création O Vertigo)

Luz : Dentelle will be presented at Tangente in November 2021


soniabustos.com
instagram

06.062pmOnline Broadcasting

Luz : Terre

Sonia Bustos

Comment soigner nos corps après avoir vécu la tristesse et la peur? Après avoir dénoncé et lutté contre les abus, comment transformer la douleur en lumière? Luz : Terre est un acte de soin collectif dans lequel, les mots guérisseurs de femmes mexicaines résonnent à travers les mains de six brodeuses afin de semer l’espoir. Ce projet fait partie du triptyque LUZ (Dentelle, Echo, Terre) qui vise, en habitant divers espaces, à connecter avec des communautés plurielles.

Ce projet propose la participation active de six personnes (brodeuses) s’identifiant en tant que femmes ou appartenant aux minorités de genre.


Sonia Bustos. Interprète-créatrice d’origine mexicaine. Ses intérêts sont fortement liés à l’engagement sociopolitique et à la reconnaissance du travail créatif de l’interprète. Elle axe sa recherche artistique sur la condition féminine, la troisième racine*, la mémoire, la théâtralité et le partage avec le public.

    • *La troisième racine fait référence à la reconnaissance de la présence et de l’apport socioculturel et historique que les communautés afrodescendantes ont eu en Amérique Latine, lesquelles sont arrivées comme esclaves et continuent à être invisibilisées.

Idéation, chorégraphie et interprétation
Sonia Bustos

Dramaturgie
Yohayna Hernàndezn

Conception sonore
Moe Clark

Direction technique
Catherine FP

Crédit Photo
Vanessa Fortin

Avec le soutien de
Conseil des arts du Canada

Résidences de création
Maison de la Culture Rosemont-Petite-Patrie + Maisons de la Culture Plateau-Mont-Royal + CCOV (Centre de création O Vertigo)

Le volet Luz : Dentelle sera diffusé à Tangente en novembre 2021


soniabustos.com
instagram

03.0614hPerformance extérieure
04.0614hPerformance extérieure
05.0614hPerformance extérieure
06.0614hPerformance extérieure + Webdiffusion