About

Annual artistic event created on the edge of the Festival TransAmériques (FTA), the OFFTA is a festival dedicated to avant-garde creation in live art. It aims to scout, throughout the year, the local artistic landscape in order to put forward creators whose practice leads new trends in theatre, dance and performance. The OFFTA bases its identity on an artistic direction that encourages strong and singular approaches, emerging practices and experimentation.

Following the disappearance of the Festival international de nouvelle danse (FIND) and the Nouvelle Scène section of the Festival de Théâtre des Amériques1, a large part of the artistic community was left without a platform; the idea of the OFFTA consequently emerged.

It is with vision and determination that five young theatre artists (Jasmine Catudal, Stephanie Capistran-Lalonde, Johanne Haberlin, Emmanuelle Kirouac-Sanche and Jacques Laroche) organized the first edition. From May 23rd to June 7th, 2007, seven plays were presented in five different venues. The various acts of support from the community and the numerous positive reactions proved the importance of an “OFF” in the cultural landscape of Montreal.

The following year and for subsequent editions, the festival’s artistic committee became pluridisciplinary by integrating members from the fields of dance, visual arts and contemporary practices. With the numerous project proposals and undeniable media support, the festival acquired a solid reputation among the public and the artistic community. The OFFTA rapidly became an essential showcase for the national and international exposure of local artists. An impressive number of renowned artists presented their work in the context of the festival, such as Mani Soleymanlou, Félix-Antoine Boutin, Philippe Boutin, Maxime Carbonneau, Sarah Berthiaume, L’eau du bain, Jacob Wren, Jacques Poulin-Denis, Adam Kinner, Mélanie Demers, Étienne Lepage, Frédérick Gravel, Nicolas Cantin, Emmanuel Schwartz, Sylvie Cotton, Production Porte-Parole and Nadège Grebmeier-Forget.

Again and again, the OFFTA aspires to decompartmentalise contemporary art practices along with their respective audiences. In keeping with its vision of disciplinary encounters, the OFFTA produces and presents hybrid events which challenge established live art practices and question modes of representation, as well as facilitate participation, dialogue and cooperation.

The OFFTA is a structuring platform for young Montreal artists that creates, produces and presents their work. The festival offers residencies of research and creation as well as dramaturgic support for several of the selected projects. It gives access to professional means of production and communications to all the artists of the program, and act as a first link between young artists and national and international presenters who are in Montreal at this time of year. With these levers, the OFFTA festival aims to amplify the strong voices of its generation.

F.A.Q.

Why maintain an edition of the OFFTA ?

Imagining a live art festival in the actual context is everything but easy. In such confined moments, how can we activate the necessary fragility that ties us when we attend a performance? Which imaginaries can we summon, welcome, gather, in an attempt to question the past and what we seek for the future? After discussion with the artists, it seemed essential to us to consider this edition of the OFFTA as an experimental and observation platform. With humility, we will try to conceive an open space-time to reflect together, artists and publics, on what marks the live in art. Beyond its form, every performance presented emerges from the desire of each artist to revisit their own practice in light of present times. Online, with a distance, through interposed mailboxes, every gesture will aim to reinvent relationships, embrace the unknown and fool distances.

How can I attend the events of the programme?

1. Starting now, get your pass at offta.com

2. In the upcoming weeks, discover the programme that will be unveiled gradually.

3. As of May 18th, build your own programme with the full festival schedule.

4. Throughout the festival, receive a daily newsletter with all the necessary infos to attend each performance.

Why get a pass if it’s free?

By getting a pass, not only will you receive all the necessary infos about the festival, you also commit as a festivalgoer. Because this is risk taking for the artist and public alike, because our communities are actually in precarious financial conditions, we decided to open up the accessibility of the festival by offering a pass for $0. If your financial means allow it, it is strongly recommended to get a pass by giving a donation of $25 or $50. Such donations are crucial to support the mission of the OFFTA. Would you wish to make a more important donation, you could do so here. Note that charitable receipts will be issued for all donations.

Grants

Thanks to the support of its partners and patrons, the OFFTA can offer grants to the festival’s standout artists or collectives. These will be awarded to creators who have contributed to the vitality of the Montreal and Quebec live art scene. Recipients will be announced at the end of the festival.

Audacity Grant – Caisse Desjardins de la Culture
Awarded to an individual artist or group for audacious practices fostering new perspectives. Recipient will be selected by the OFFTA’s artistic committee.
Created 25 years ago by and for the cultural sector, Caisse Desjardins de la Culture helps artists, artisans, creators and the self-employed to realize their projects, whether personal or professional.

Si j’étais un homme… by Elle Barbara + Vjosana Shkurti + Alexander Storm
For a unique gathering moment, touching and unexpected in these moments of confinement, the Audacity Grant is awarded to Si j’étais un homme… by Elle Barbara. Despite the distance, the making of this video brought together Elle Barbara in Montreal, Diane Tell in Switzerland and festi-valgoers from everywhere, who sang in unison the flagship title of Diane Tell.

Hybridity Grant – Mois Multi – Festival international d’arts multidisciplinaires et électroniques
Awarded to an individual artist or group who strongly stands out through a practice successfully merging languages, materials, techniques, forms or artistic processes of various kinds. The grant, accompanied by a one-week residency at the studio d’Essai with technical support and equipment, is awarded by a committee of the Recto-Verso team, producer of the Mois Multi festival.

FKA Family Tree by Jordan Brown
For the singularity of a poetic proposition combining body and plastic languages, the Hybrid Grant is awarded to FKA Family Tree by Jordan Brown. His multidisciplinary universe and unique gesture suggest a promising practice.

Committee’s special mention from LA SERRE – arts vivants
The artist or group chosen will receive a residency at the Ateliers de LA SERRE – arts vivants in 2020–2021. Recipient will be selected by LA SERRE – arts vivants’ team.

Vulnérables Paradoxes
Pour la pertinence et l’importance des propos des artistes ayant participé à cette série de tables rondes, et pour le comité artistique ayant rassemblé ces voix, le Coup de cœur est remis à Vulnérables Paradoxes. Des conversations fortes, inspirantes et bouleversantes, nécessaires à activer (et à poursuivre) dans un contexte festivalier.

Calls

In order to develop the programming for the 15th edition of the festival, which will be held in late May/early June 2021, the OFFTAwill be looking for projects hat are the result of new writings that touch and shake our beliefs and will launch a call at the start of LA SERRE – arts vivants year.

Stay tuned for the call for proposals to come !

Archives

Associates Partners
Caisse Desjardins de la Culture Georges Laoun Opticien Location Sauvageau Zone Festival

À propos

Manifestation artistique annuelle créée aux abords du Festival TransAmériques (FTA) à Montréal, le OFFTA est un festival voué à la jeune création d’avant-garde en arts vivants. Il a pour mission de défricher, tout au long de l’année, le paysage artistique local afin de mettre de l’avant des créateurs dont la démarche guide les nouveaux courants en théâtre, danse et performance. Le OFFTA fonde son identité sur une direction artistique favorisant les démarches fortes et singulières, les pratiques émergentes et l’expérimentation.

À la disparition du Festival international de nouvelle danse (FIND) et du volet Nouvelle Scène du Festival de Théâtre des Amériques1, une grande partie de la communauté artistique se retrouve sans tribune; l’idée du OFFTA émerge.

C’est avec vision et détermination que cinq jeunes artisans du théâtre (Jasmine Catudal, Stephanie Capistran-Lalonde, Johanne Haberlin, Emmanuelle Kirouac-Sanche et Jacques Laroche) organisent la toute première édition. Du 23 mai au 7 juin 2007, sept pièces de théâtre sont présentées dans cinq espaces de diffusion distincts. Les appuis divers et les nombreuses réactions positives confirment la juste place d’un «OFF» dans le paysage culturel montréalais.

À compter de l’édition suivante, le comité artistique du festival devient pluridisciplinaire en intégrant des membres provenant des milieux de la danse, des arts visuels et des nouvelles pratiques. Les nombreux projets déposés et l’appui indéniable des médias permettent à l’événement de se démarquer auprès du public ainsi que du milieu artistique et prouve le caractère essentiel de l’événement. Le OFFTA s’établit aussi rapidement comme une vitrine incontournable pour la diffusion nationale et internationale des artistes d’ici. Un nombre exceptionnel d’artistes ont présenté leur travail au cours des différentes éditions, nommons entre autres Mani Soleymanlou, FélixAntoine Boutin, Philippe Boutin, Maxime Carbonneau, Sarah Berthiaume, L’eau du bain, Jacob Wren, Jacques Poulin-Denis, Adam Kinner, Mélanie Demers, Étienne Lepage, Frédérick Gravel, Nicolas Cantin, Emmanuel Schwartz, Sylvie Cotton, Production PorteParole et Nadège Grebmeier-Forget.

Encore et toujours, le OFFTA aspire à un décloisonnement des pratiques artistiques contemporaines et de leur public respectif. Dans cette vision de rencontre disciplinaire, le OFFTA diffuse et produit des événements métissés, qui bousculent les pratiques établies des arts vivants et questionnent les modes de représentation, tout en favorisant la participation, le dialogue et la coopération.

Le OFFTA est une plateforme structurante en création, en production et en diffusion, qui épaule la jeune création montréalaise. Le festival offre des résidences de recherche et création ainsi qu’un accompagnement dramaturgique à plusieurs projets sélectionnés. Il donne accès à des moyens de production et de communications professionnels à l’ensemble des artistes de la programmation et s’offre comme premier lien structurant entre les jeunes artistes et les diffuseurs nationaux et internationaux présents à Montréal à ce moment de l’année. À travers ces leviers, le festival OFFTA aspire à être un amplificateur des voix les plus fortes de sa génération.

F.A.Q.

Pourquoi maintenir une édition du OFFTA?

Concevoir un festival d’arts vivants, dans le contexte actuel, n’a rien d’une évidence. Comment activer, en ces temps confinés, la nécessaire fragilité qui nous relie lorsque nous assistons à une performance ? Quels imaginaires convoquer, accueillir, rassembler pour tenter d’interroger le passé et ce que nous désirons pour la suite ? Après discussion avec les artistes, il nous est apparu primordial d’envisager cette édition du OFFTA comme une plateforme d’expérimentation et d’observation. Avec humilité, nous essaierons donc de concevoir un espace-temps ouvert pour s’interroger ensemble, artistes et publics, sur ce qui caractérise le vivant de l’art. Chaque performance présentée, quel que soit sa forme, naît donc du désir de chaque artiste de revisiter sa pratique à la lumière du présent. En ligne, à distance, par boîtes aux lettres interposées, chaque geste aura comme objectif de réinventer des liens, embrasser l’inconnu et déjouer la distance.

Comment puis-je assister aux événements de la programmation?

1. Dès maintenant, procurez-vous une passe sur le offta.com.

2. Au cours des prochaines semaines, découvrez la programmation qui sera dévoilée progressivement.

3. À compter du 18 mai, concoctez votre programmation à l’aide de la grille horaire complète.

4. Durant le festival, recevez quotidiennement une infolettre contenant toutes les informations nécessaires pour assister à chaque performance.

Pourquoi se procurer une passe, si c’est gratuit?

En vous procurant une passe, non seulement vous recevrez toutes les informations nécessaires concernant le festival, vous vous engagez également en tant que festivalier·ère. Parce qu’il s’agit d’une prise de risque considérable autant pour l’artiste que pour le public et que nos communautés sont actuellement financièrement précarisées, nous avons pris la décision de rendre le festival plus accessible en offrant une passe à 0$. Si vos moyens vous le permettent, il est fortement suggéré de vous procurer une passe en faisant un don de 25$ ou 50$. Ces dons sont vitaux pour nous permettre de poursuivre la mission du OFFTA. Si vous désirez faire un don plus important, vous pouvez le faire ici. Veuillez notez que des reçus de charité seront émis pour tous les dons.

Bourses

Le OFFTA, grâce au soutien de ses partenaires et de ses donateurs, remet des bourses à des artistes ou à des groupes d’artistes s’étant démarqués pendant le festival. Celles-ci sont accordées à des créateur·trice·s qui contribuent de différentes façons à la vitalité de la scène des arts vivants à Montréal et au Québec. Les récipiendaires seront annoncés à la fin du festival.

Bourse à l’Audace – Caisse Desjardins de la Culture
Remise à un·e artiste ou à un groupe d’artistes qui se démarque par une démarche audacieuse ouvrant de nouvelles perspectives. La bourse est décernée par le comité artistique du OFFTA.
Depuis 25 ans, la Caisse Desjardins de la Culture, créée par et pour le milieu culturel, accompagne les artistes, les artisans, les créateurs et les travailleurs autonomes dans la réalisation de leurs projets tant personnels que professionnels.

Bourse Hybride – Mois Multi – Festival international d’arts multidisciplinaires et électroniques
Remise à un·e artiste ou à un groupe d’artistes qui se démarque fortement par une pratique fusionnant des langages, des matériaux, des techniques, des formes ou encore des procédés artistiques de toute nature. La bourse, accompagnée d’une semaine de résidence au studio d’Essai avec soutien technique et équipements, est décernée par un comité de l’équipe Recto-Verso producteur du festival Mois Multi.

Coup de cœur de LA SERRE – arts vivants
L’artiste ou le groupe d’artistes sélectionné bénéficiera d’une résidence aux Ateliers de LA SERRE – arts vivants en 2020-2021. La bourse est décernée par l’équipe de LA SERRE – arts vivants.

Appels

Information à venir

Archives

Partenaires associés
Caisse Desjardins de la Culture Georges Laoun Opticien Location Sauvageau Zone Festival